Virtual 2020 Community Radio Awards crowns winners

The best of community support and broadcasting has been recognised at the 2020 Community Radio Awards, sponsored by Playoutone.

In this unusual year, the event turned virtual, allowing more volunteers than ever to attend online.

Continuing the tradition, the event was hosted by last year’s Male gold recipient, Sam Day from Future Radio, with awards presented by a multitude of judges and sponsors.

Martin Steers, awards chair, said: “This year has not been what we expected, but community radio has really stepped up to the plate and served it’s communities more than ever.

“The work we’ve seen this year is phenomenal, and we’re delighted to be able to help recognise this.”

“We’re already planning next year’s awards, and hope to gather again in person once more!”


GOLD – Primrose and Terry: in the shed – Radio LaB 97.1FM

SILVER – RAINBOW DADS – Stories of Gay and Bi Dads – Chelmsford Community Radio

BRONZE – FEM2020 – Spark

Innovation Award

GOLD – Switch Radio’s News Hub – Switch Radio

SILVER – We created the board game, called ‘Our Time and Place…Halifax’ – Phoenix FM

BRONZE – The Vectis Radio 4ps Vectis Radio Training School – Vectis Radio

Newcomer (new to radio in last 12 months) – Sponsored by The Radio Hub

GOLD – Isabel Ellis – Ribble FM

SILVER – Kate Walker – Red Kite Radio

BRONZE – Benjy Potter – Vibe 107.6 FM

Sage Person (Over 60)

GOLD – Tony Barnfield – Cambridge 105 Radio

SILVER – Liz Mullen – BFBS Colchester

BRONZE – Moz Walsh – ALLFM

Young Person of the Year (under 25)

GOLD – Johnny Jenkins – Gateway 97.8

SILVER – Luis Wyatt – Andover Radio

BRONZE – Jake Hunter – Radio Ninesprings

Volunteer of the Year

GOLD – Steve Fox – Red Kite Radio

SILVER – Kelvin Currie – Vectis Radio

BRONZE – Alex Airnes – K107fm

Sports Show of the Year

GOLD – Switch Radio Sport – Switch Radio

SILVER – NLive Sports Show – NLive Radio

BRONZE – Verulam Sport – Radio Verulam

Specialist Music Show of the Year

GOLD – Priya Matharu – Switch Radio

SILVER – Community Keyboards with Ian Wolstenholme – Oldham Community Radio

BRONZE – The Vintage Show with Liz Catlow – Ribble FM

Arts & Creative Radio of the Year – Sponsored by the Audio Content Fund

GOLD – Virtual Strawberry Fair – Cambridge 105 Radio

SILVER – A Fete Worse Than Death – Somer Valley FM

BRONZE – Mulch – A Tale of Allotment Folk (Soap Opera) – Warminster Community Radio

Speech & Journalism of the Year

GOLD – Basildon Question Time – Gateway 97.8

SILVER – Meet The Smugglers – Radio LaB 97.1fm

BRONZE – ‘He’s Just A Cleaner’ – Spark

Special Coverage: 2019 General Elections Coverage

GOLD – All Out Election – Gateway 97.8

SILVER – General Election Hustings – Bro Radio

BRONZE – Election Coverage 2019 #BrumVotes – Switch Radio

Entertainment Show of the Year

GOLD – Vibe Breakfast – Vibe 107.6 FM

SILVER – Amelia Slaughter – Marlow FM

BRONZE – Coffee and Tea – Gateway 97.8

Live Event or Outside Broadcast of the Year – Sponsored by In:Quality

GOLD – Northern Pride Festival 2019 – Pride Radio

SILVER – Virtual Strawberry Fair – Cambridge 105 Radio

BRONZE – Surrey Fire And Rescue Service Open Day – Susy Radio

Female Presenter of the Year

GOLD – Fiona McNeill – Dunoon Community Radio

SILVER – Gemma-Leigh James (Gemza) – Marlow FM

BRONZE – Pippa Sawyer – Wycombe Sound

Male Presenter of the Year

GOLD – Luis Wyatt – Andover Radio

SILVER – Rob L’Esperance – Wycombe Sound

BRONZE – Tom Lamb – Erewash Sound

Community Show of the Year
GOLD – Trevor Blackman Now – Maritime Radio
SILVER – The Vectis Radio 4Ps Training School Documentary – Vectis Radio

BRONZE – Radio: Impact! – Cambridge 105 Radio

Community Development Project of the Year
GOLD – The Radio Plus Community Advent Calendar 2019 – Radio Plus

SILVER – The Vectis Radio 4Ps Radio Training School – Vectis Radio

BRONZE – The #Lovebus – Andover Radio

Digital or RSL Station Of The Year
GOLD – Riverside Radio

SILVER – Ocean Youth

BRONZE – Swansbrook Radio

Station of the Year – Sponsored by Playoutone

GOLD – Bro Radio

SILVER – Raidió FáiltE