Recipients announced for the 2018 Community Radio Awards

More than 50 projects have been recognised at the 2018 Community Radio Awards.


Irish language station Raidió Fáilte from Belfast was named Station of the Year, at the awards, which took place in Sheffield.


More than 200 people attended the celebrations, which were hosted by 2017 Female and Male gold recipients Louise Croombs and Mark Blackman.


Martin Steers, awards chair, said: “This independent event continues to grow from year to year, and it’s amazing to build momentum and celebrate the fantastic work that this sector produces in its communities on a daily basis.”


“A big thank you to all those who entered, to the 50 judges, to our venue Sheffield Hallam Students Union, and to all our sponsors”.


“We’d love to see even more stations entering the awards next year.”


Community Development Project of the Year

GOLD               Somer Valley FM         The METS Training programme

SILVER            Sheppey FM                Mental Health Community Project

BRONZE          Vectis Radio                The 4Ps Project


Station of the Year

GOLD               Raidió Fáilte

SILVER            Spark Sunderland

BRONZE          ALL FM


Female Presenter of the Year

GOLD               Zetland FM                  Julie Donaldson

SILVER            Wycombe Sound         Philippa Sawyer

BRONZE          Erewash Sound           Emma Snow


Male Presenter of the Year

GOLD   Erewash Sound                       Mark Jarvis

SILVERWycombe Sound                     Rob L’Esperance

BRONZE          Voice FM                     Simon Wilson


Community Show of the Year

GOLD               East Coast FM            Pol.ON – The Polish Show

SILVER            Tameside Radio          Tameside Today

BRONZE          BCfm Radio                 The One Love Breakfast Show


Live Event or Outside Broadcast of the Year

GOLD               Wycombe Sound         Local Radio Day 2018

SILVER            Chelmsford Community Radio           General Election 2017

BRONZE          107 Meridian FM        ‘Spirit of Wildfire’ – A Festival for Radio


Entertainment Show of the Year

GOLD               Wycombe Sound         The Rob L’Esperance Jukebox

SILVER            Erewash Sound           Emma Snow

BRONZE          Spark Sunderland        Drivetime with Ryan and Beth


Speech and Journalism of the Year

GOLD               Radio Verulam            The Parents’ Show

SILVER            Radio Cabin                 Opening of the Herne Centre

BRONZE          CSR                              Dear Reader with Jessica Stone


Arts and Creative Radio of the Year

GOLD               Huntingdon Community Radio  (HCR104fm)Huntsford

SILVER            CSR                              Dear Reader

BRONZE          Radio LaB                    Devolved


Specialist Show of the Year

GOLD               Spark Sunderland        Dance Revolution Chart of the Year 2017

SILVER            ALL FM                        The Innocent Ear – Classical Music with Rocks in!

BRONZE          Alive Radio                  Country in my Veins – Ali Donowho


Sports Show of the Year

GOLD               Wycombe Sound         Tuesday Night Sport

SILVER            Radio Cardiff               OB’s Saturday Sport Show

BRONZE          Black Country Radio   Live Commentary – FA Cup – Birmingham Senior Cup


Volunteer of the Year

GOLD               KCC Live                      Oliver Downing

BRONZE          Radio Tamworth         Alex Farrell

SILVER            Drystone Radio           Oliver Wilkinson


Young Person of the Year

GOLD               Erewash Sound           Jeannie Nicolas

SILVER            Wycombe Sound         Liam Gates

BRONZE          Tameside Radio          James O’Malley


Sage Person of the Year

GOLD               Endeavour FM            Chris Moore

SILVER            Wythenshawe Community Radio       Roz Johnson

BRONZE          Black Diamond FM      Bill Prentice


Newcomer of the Year

GOLD               Drystone Radio           Jane Steele

SILVER            Sheppey FM                Abbie Clive

BRONZE          Wycombe Sound         Mimi Harker OBE


Innovation of the Year

GOLD               Academy FM Folkestone        ‘Get On’ – Science Education & Community Radio

SILVER            Phoenix FM – Halifax              The Halifax Jigsaw Project

BRONZE          Chorley FM                             The Chorley FM ‘100 Club’


Podcast of the Year

GOLD               National Prison Radio            Double Bubble


Digital/RSL Station of the Year

GOLD               Wandsworth Radio