Community Radio Awards 2019 – Shortlist

Its a month to go until the Community Radio Awards 2019 on the 26th of October, Memo Arts Centre, Barry, tickets are available here: http://bit.ly/CRATickets

If you’re not able to attend you can keep up to date by following our social media accounts.

We are excited to announce the nominations for the Community Radio Awards 2019 are…

Community Development Project of the Year

Chapel St Primary School takes over – ALL FM
The Routes into Levenshulme project – ALL FM
Community Awards – Bro Radio
Cash 4 Calendars Campaign – Spark FM
The 4Ps Project – Vectis Radio

Station of the Year

Pride Radio
Spark FM
Ujima Radio
Wycombe Sound

Female Presenter of the Year

Jo Thoenes – BFBS Brize Norton
Fiona McNeill – Dunoon Community Radio
Jeannie Nicolas – Erewash Sound
Gloria Miller – Express FM
Gemma-Leigh James – Marlow FM

Male Presenter of the Year

Pat Hart – BCfm Radio
Chris Kaye – BFBS Catterick
Paul Stacey – Erewash Sound
Sam Day – Future Radio
Rob L’Esperance – Wycombe Sound 106.6fm

Community Show of the Year

The Vale This Week – Bro Radio
The Edge of Life – Flame CCR
The Health and Wellbeing Hour – Heartland FM
Talking Council – Vectis Radio
Julie Donaldson’s Morning Mix – Zetland FM

Live Event or Outside Broadcast of the Year

Sponsored by In:Quality

Local Radio Day – Bro Radio
Fiona McNeills Celtic & Folk Fusions at the Islay Whiskey Festival 2019 – Dunoon Community Radio
Start of the Great North Run 2018 – Radio Tyneside
Source FM Christmas Party 2018 – Source FM
Source FM’s Parklive – Source FM

Entertainment Show of the Year

The Dylan Taylor Breakfast Show – 107 Endeavour FM
Desi Beats Show with Desi Diva Deepa – Asian Star Radio
The Jeannie Nicolas Show – Erewash Sound
Robbie James – Express FM
House of Fun – PCR FM

Speech & Journalism of the Year

Talking Men – The Alex Skeel Interview – Cambridge 105 Radio
An interview with a young person about drug dealing – Gateway 97.8
Wylfa Newydd Suspension Coverage – MônFM
Autism & It’s Possibilities – Radio LaB 97.1FM
Second Chance: Disclosing Your Past – Swindon 105.5

Arts & Creative Radio of the Year

Maritime Radio Launch: A Love Song to Greenwich & Woolwich – Maritime Radio
“The UK’s most creative independent radio station” – Resonance FM
Pages of the Sea – Spark
Where I Was Born, Where I Was Raised. – Spark
Under the Radar – Warminster Community Radio

Specialist Music Show of the Year

Alex Krupa’s Country Show – Andover Radio
It’s Showtime with Ryan & Jodana – Bro Radio
Russell Hill’s Country Music Show – Express FM
Funk Soul Brother – Spark Sunderland
The Roots Collective – Wycombe Sound 106.6fm

Sports Show of the Year

The Meridian Sports Show – 107 Meridian FM
Odd Shaped Balls – CANDOFM
MônFM Sport – MônFM
The Terrace Radio Show – Radio Cardiff
Verulam Sports – Radio Verulam

Volunteer of the Year

Gareth Knight – Bro Radio
Gareth Joy – MônFM
Chas Large – Red Kite Radio
Kate Gregory – Speysound Radio
Luke Davis – Wycombe Sound 106.6fm

Young Person of the Year (under 25)

Sponsored by BBC Local Radio

George Icke – 103 The Eye
Haashim Siddique – Asian Star Radio
Kane McMahon – Bro Radio
Emma Snow – Erewash Sound
Tom Lamb – Erewash Sound

Sage Person (Over 60)

Moz Walsh – ALL FM
Geoff Selby – Bro Radio
Sue Rodwell Smith – HCR FM
Steve Fox – Red Kite Radio
Kelvin Currie – Vectis Radio

Newcomer (new to radio in last 12 months)

Sponsored by The Radio Hub

Lewis Allsopp – Erewash Sound
Jenna Myles – FromeFM
Sam Sethi – Marlow FM
Annette Luck – Red Kite Radio
Jonny Green – Ribble FM

Innovation Award

Community Awards – Bro Radio
Access All Areas – Audio mapping of the Community – Phoenix Radio – Halifax
Pride Community Network – Pride Radio
Not so much a website, more a community hub – Radio Verulam
The Local Radio Marketing Group – Wycombe Sound


Talking Men – The Alex Skeel Interview – Cambridge 105 Radio
Rich Seams – New Writing North
Fantastic Noise – Radio LaB 97.1FM
ArtsWatch – Riverside Radio
Speak Up Sunderland – Solo Arts CIC

Digital or RSL Station Of The Year

Sponsored by CMS4MEDIA
Aycliffe Radio
Corinium Radio
Ocean Youth Radio
Radio Wanno
Thre3-6ix Radio & Scout Radio