2020 Community Radio Awards launched

Entries are about to open for the fifth national Community Radio Awards, sponsored by PlayoutONE.

Volunteers and stations from up and down the country are being urged to enter the best of their output from the past year, and consider those team members deserving of special recognition.

Martin Steers, awards chair, said:

“We’re really excited to be launching the fifth Community Radio Awards – the last few years have flown.

“The breadth and depth of coverage, community response, and thought provoking content produced by our sector never ceases to amaze, and I am delighted that we can continue to offer a platform to showcase it.”

Phil Johnson, sales and support director at headline sponsor PlayoutONE, added:

“PlayoutONE’s foundation is built on the needs of Community Radio. If you trace the roots of our team back, you’ll find a community radio station along the way.

“We passionately care about offering the sector feature rich broadcast software tools that cope with today’s challenges.

“It’s an honour for us to support the 2020 Community Radio Awards. The team and I can’t wait to hear your fantastic stories and audio.

“We’re looking forward to meeting you at this years’ ceremony and ultimately being able to celebrate all the successes of you as nominees and winners.”

For 2020, there is a new category focusing on coverage of 2019’s ‘Snap Election’ in December. It is likely response to the current COVID-19 crisis will be recognised in the 2021 awards process.

Subject to Government guidance, an Awards event is still in the pipeline for this year, although later in the calendar than would usually be the case. This will be reviewed in the weeks and months ahead.

Submissions are open from the 19th June and close 5pm 31st July 2020.  You can head to the submission site and follow the instructions to submit your entries either as a station or as an individual from a station.

The submissions are £5 per entry, and we aim for that to be accessible for Community Radio, for those stations that want to fund the awards for their volunteers or for those volunteers who are happy and able to pay themselves.

Station of the Year and Digital or RSL Station Of The Year are both free to enter categories.

The awards have been designed so that stations and individuals from stations can submit as many entries into any of the categories as they like. We are do not want to limit stations as to how many submissions they can make, and we are happy for stations to administer it how they wish. Some stations may send out the information to their presenters & volunteers or some may decide to centrally organise and submit entries in one go. We want everyone who is involved in community radio to feel in a position to enter, and we hope that there is a category for everyone with our awards.

Entries will be checked and sorted in August when the judging process starts. A shortlist of 5 for each category will then be produced and published prior to the ceremony, based on our independent judging process.

Our judging panel is made up of more than 50 volunteers from charities, community radio, commercial radio and BBC radio, who give their time to help recognise and reward our sector. No community radio judge will score an entry from their station, and several judges will listen to each entry.

For more information and to enter head to communityradioawards.org.uk/awardcategories


2020 Categories

  • Station of the Year

sponsored by PlayoutONE

  • Community Development Project
  • Digital or RSL Station Of The Year
  • Male Presenter
  • Female Presenter
  • Community Show
  • Live Event or Outside Broadcast

sponsored by InQuality

  • Entertainment Show
  • Arts & Creative Radio

sponsored by the Audio Content Fund

  • Speech & Journalism
  • Specialist Music Show
  • Sports Show
  • Volunteer
  • Young Person (Under 25)
  • Sage Person (Over 60)
  • Newcomer (new to radio in last 12 months)

sponsored by The Radio Hub

  • Innovation Award
  • Podcast
  • Election Coverage