2017 Community Radio Awards Results

Wycombe Radio 106.6 FM named 2017 Station of the Year at the Community Radio Awards


The successes of the UK’s growing not-for-profit radio sector were celebrated last night at the second annual Community Radio Awards (23 September), as Wycombe Radio 106.6 FM was named Station of The Year 2017.


The award was announced by CRA Chair Martin Steers following the 2017 Community Media Conference, this year hosted by Ujima FM in Bristol, 2016 Station of the Year.


Gold awards in the 17 categories included Radio Wanno from HMP Wandsworth was named best podcast (presented by Upload Radio); Rachel Price of Forces Radio BFBS Northern Ireland named Young Person of the Year (under 25) (presented by BBC Local Radio); and Spark FM’s Building an Audience using Facebook Live was Innovation of the year (presented by CMA).


A panel of over 50 judges drawn from the BBC, Commercial Radio, Community Radio & Media and Academia selected the best programmes and stations from more than 350 entries from 70 community radio stations.


Community Radio Award chair, Martin Steers, said:


“We can’t believe how much these new awards have caught the imagination of the movement of volunteers who are producing fantastic and engaging radio for their communities. What we were really excited by is the increasing energy of their output. It can be a long old haul keeping output going over the long term on very minimal funds, so we’re pleased to see that the sector is not only surviving but thriving, and is increasingly the answer to bringing communities together and serving those who are being left behind by the traditional and mainstream media.”



Community Development Project of the Year

Gold: Mackem Craic – Spark FM

Silver: A Present from the Past – Phoenix FM

Bronze: Radio Sheung Lok – All FM


Station of the Year

Gold: Wycombe Sound 106.6 FM

Silver: Ribble FM

Bronze: Somer Valley FM


Female Presenter of the Year

Gold: Louise Croombs – Tameside Radio

Silver: Philippa Sawyer – Wycombe Sound 106.6 FM

Bronze: Julie Donaldson – Zetland FM


Male Presenter of the Year

Gold: Mark Blackman – Wirral Radio and Canalside Radio

Silver: Rob L’Esperance – Wycombe Sound 106.6 FM

Bronze: Mark Jarvis – Erewash Sound


Community Show of the Year

Gold: The Midweek Sportsbar – BCfm Radio

Silver: Farming Friday – Ribble FM

Bronze: Mid Morning – Wycombe Sound 106.6FM


Live Event or Outside Broadcast of the Year

Gold: Tour de Yorkshire – Drystone Radio

Silver: Failsworth Carnival – Oldham Community Radio 99.7 FM

Bronze: Les James Challenge Cup Final 2017 – 107.5 Switch Radio


Entertainment Show of the Year

Gold: The Kieran Poole Sessions – Miskin Radio

Silver: The Week in Geek – Spark FM

Bronze: Drivetime with Ryan and Beth – Spark FM


Speech and Journalism of the Year

Gold: Rough Sleep – Tameside Radio

Silver: The Late Show with Joe Shennan – Wycombe Sound 106.6 FM

Bronze: Newsburst – Sheppey 92.2 FM


Arts and Creative Radio of the Year

Gold: Folkestone Life, A Sound Art Project – Academy FM Folkestone

Silver: Lincoln Voices – Lincoln City Radio

Bronze: The Second Coming – Warminster Community Radio


Specialist Music Show of the Year

Gold: The Urban LP – CSR FM

Silver: Dance Revolution – Spark FM

Bronze: The Richard Harris Folk and Blues Show – Somer Valley FM


Sports Show of the Year

Gold: Sportsbyte – Spark FM

Silver: Radio Verulam FA Cup coverage St Albans v Carlisle United – Radio Verulam

Bronze: The Wycombe Sound Saturday Sports Show – Wycombe Sound 106.6 FM


Volunteer of the Year

Gold: Jack Bee – Sheppey 92.2 FM

Silver: Ian Robertson – East Coast FM

Bronze: Gary Tottingham – Radio LaB


Young Person of the Year (under 25)

Gold: Rachel Price – Forces Radio BFBS Northern Ireland

Silver: Lewis Baxter – Ribble FM

Bronze: Lila Bellamy – 107 Meridian FM


Sage Person of the Year (over 60)

Gold: Harry Haward – Resonance FM

Silver: Keith Green – Warminster Community Radio

Bronze: Trish Napier – Canalside Radio


Newcomer (new to radio in the last 12 months)

Gold: Mark Jarvis – Erewash Sound

Silver: Katy Ashman – Abbey 104

Bronze: Lee Roe – Ribble FM


Innovation Award

Gold: Building an Audience using Facebook Live – Spark FM

Silver: Raspberry Pi Uplink Solution – Wycombe Sound 106.6 FM

Bronze: 300 Club Lottery – Oldham Community Radio Station 99.7 FM


Podcast of the Year

Gold: Radio Wanno – Radio Wanno (HMP Wandsworth)

Silver: Shadow – Insanity Radio

Bronze: Talking Men – Cambridge 105